Photo Safari….OOOOOOO-klahoma

  

     Often, as I visit the web-sites and blogs of other photographers, I am able to get a taste of exotic lands and come in contact, vicariously,  with interesting characters whom I would otherwise never encounter.  I’ll have to admit that at times I have to hold back a certain twinge of professional and personal envy.

     You know, the “Well, no wonder you take such great pictures. Who couldn’t on Jupiter, etc…”  Thankfully, I don’t allow that ‘twinge’ to grow beyond a brief wistful sigh, and I usually end up with more of a “Way to go!  Thanks for sharing your vision and allowing me to be there with you!”

     I am not going to any exotic locales in the near, or far future…as far as I know, but I am constantly amazed by the diversity of geography and culture within our own American borders.

So rather than wallow in the begrudging mire, my ‘job’ is to present the places that I DO visit in a way that causes the ‘homeland’ to hold some interest.

     I was recently in Lawton, Oklahoma,  assisting on a hospital photo shoot and had researched the area to see if there was something that might take up any spare time that presented itself…knowing that ‘spare time’ is most often an elusive dream…   

  

     I had suggested taking a ‘photo safari’ to this spot one afternoon  to see what the sunset had to offer. 

     As it turned out, the mixture of a long day, impending storms, and a world-class German restaurant took precedence (Jaegerschnitzel, Spaetzle, Red Cabbage, Mustard Beans, followed by warm Almond Bread Pudding with ice cream!!!?? Ja….Zehr Gut!!!!!!!)

…and there would still be the next morning, if the weather cleared…

  

…with time to make a detour on the way to Oklahoma City to catch an afternoon flight…btw…lunch in OK City at The Cattleman’s Steakhouse was ‘pretty dang good’, also.  Cattleman’s has been around 100 years in the Stockyard City section of Oklahoma’s capital. Can you guess what their specialty might be?           

     The number ’33′ is branded into one wall commemorating a change of ownership in 1945… won by rolling a ‘hard six’ (two 3′s) on the dice… How the West was won…!!

    

     All of the photos in this post were taken from the peak of Mt Scott, near Lawton and Chickasha, overlooking Medicine Park and Lake Lawtonka.  Medicine Park, who bills itself as America’s Cobblestone Community, is a sort of Artist colony. The largest apparent structure is a music hall/restaurant.  Massive Native American motif sculptures grace several private residences as well as the town square….or round, in this case.   The cobblestones are not just for the streets….EVERYTHING in Medicine Park is cobblestoned…fences, houses, walls, bridges, autos…well, I think I made that last one up…

     One generally doesn’t think of Oklahoma when mountains are mentioned, and at 4,900 feet, I suppose in Colorado this would be a foothill. Mt. Scott, though, is only the 9th tallest mountain in Oklahoma.

     As I mentioned in my last post, I was drawn here by the windmills, but was mesmerized by the crisp early air as it mixed the low sun-steeped clouds and the soup of slowly rising fog  into a dish of fresh morning…which the eye could not slice, but the lungs savored.   

… as the clouds lowered and the fog rose, we were eventually enveloped in a sort of no man’s land of cooling mist…

“MAHPIYA HOCOKATOYA, P’O A OGLUTEYA”…

     Not what I would call an ‘exotic’ location, but well worth the hour spent…for photos and for the soul.

And….Oklahoma just happens to be the state of my birth…

Now I can’t wait for the next “Safari”, to wherever it may be!

Oops…Almost forgot to include this one..

~ by rkpowers on April 30, 2012.

3 Responses to “Photo Safari….OOOOOOO-klahoma”

  1. Great post …would be awesome if you “safari” to the Dallas area some day…….always enjoy your thoughts
    Jack

    Like this

  2. THIS LAST PICTURE ON THE PAGE IS SOMEHOW EXTRAORDINARY I THINK PERHAPS FROM THE COMBINATION OF THE ROCK FORMATION ITSELF WITH THE ANGLE OF PERSPECTIVE YOU PERCEIVED THRU THE LENSE!

    Like this

  3. Thanks guys!

    Like this

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 557 other followers

