Mrs. Smith–6th Grade English

I have been fortunate to have had MANY people influence my life.

Some good. Some questionable.

Some seemingly bad that turned out good.

When I was in the 6th grade, Mrs. Smith apparently saw something in me that I did not see, at the time….

(It’s still a little fuzzy.)

We used to be able to order Scholastic Book Club paperbacks, and the more you ordered, the cheaper they got.

She sat down with me and we ordered a list of books that included

The Turn of The Screw, Silas Marner, War and Peace, The Count of Monte Cristo,

and a box full of others, including a college dictionary. (Of course, at THAT age I was mostly interested in finding words like “crupper” (def.2) to be able to insert into casual conversation)

I’ll have to admit, I didn’t get through War and Peace until I was in my 20’s (and even then I had to rename ‘Rostopopaleftawich’, “Ros”, so I could get through it before I was 30.

But what a book THAT was…IS!

Anyway, bless her heart,

One day we were doing definitions.

The word was ‘spirit’ and she called on me for the ‘response’.

I was, if nothing else,

a good student…..(sorry, I choked a little bit)

so I gave the ‘book’ answer….MOOD.

Well,… Freda….(I’ll have to say I NEVER called her Freda during her life. We were taught respect, back in ‘those’ days.)

…Freda went OFF!!!!

She said, “I SHOULDA KNOWN THAT YOU, MR. RANDY POWERS WOULD COME UP WITH SOMETHING FLIPPANT WHEN I’M TRYING TO….on and on..AND NO RESPECT FOR THIS CLASS…and on…!!!!!

So,

she moved on to the next student, asked the definition, and got “mood”…!!!!

“That is correct”, she responded, glaring in my direction.

I ‘begged her pardon’ and cried,

“That’s what I said!”

(And luckily, I had 20 or so others to back me up)

Mrs. Smith sheepishly gave in with,

“Oh….I thought you said “Boo”….you know, ‘spirit’….’boo’….”

I replied, “Apology accepted, and had I been as sharp as you think I am, that is EXACTLY what I WOULD have said!”

 

Mrs. Freda Smith was one of those influences that, at the time she was influencing me, was not appreciated.

It’s amazing how time educates us. I think Mark Twain already said something about this.

Come to think of it…

I think that is in one of the books that Mrs. Smith suggested that I read!

~ by rkpowers on March 11, 2010.

4 Responses to “Mrs. Smith–6th Grade English”

  1. GREAT BLOG! hahaha…Thanks for the first laugh of the day.

    Like

  2. Mark Twain said “When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.”

    Like

  3. Lovely !

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
