Photographic Memory 2

1972

Nashville’s Municipal Auditorium

Ike and Tina Turner

My mentor* with a fake press pass

Two weeks to finish a Junior year research paper on

“The Blues”

Perfect combination

This photo was taken by *Bill Hillard as I interviewed Ike about growing up in Clarksdale, MS. Ike Turner talked to me for two hours while Tina, the Ikettes, the band, and security guards all waited to board the bus for…who knows where…the next venue. Ike had already granted a short interview to the local TV personality and had given cursory answers to questions about how one of the “Ikettes” was from Pulaski, TN, home of the KKK. (?….it was the early seventies, and the reporter was…..well…a reporter….he HAD to ask about that…)

But when I asked Ike about “The Blues”, time was no longer a factor. I mean, he’s talking Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke, W.C. Handy, B.B. King….neighbors, friends, mentors.

Got the interview.

Received an “A” on the paper

(High School teachers probably STILL love an interview. Shows you care, or something…Tell your kids!)

I don’t have any idea where the film is that I shot at the concert…..Maybe I’ll find it some day. Maybe someone else found it along with the $.75 (that’s 75 CENTS) box of 60’s baseball cards that went in a yard sale.

If I ever find it, I’ll share….the film that is…NOT the baseball cards!

~ by rkpowers on March 15, 2010.

One Response to “Photographic Memory 2”

  1. Great story Randy. I used interviews too in my research papers but made them all up out of whole cloth, usually the night before they were due.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
