Off the Beaten Path

 

A JFK CONSERVATIVE

An Oxymoron?….not so much!

Ask not what your country can do for you…Ask what You can do for your country”

Yeah, I’m ‘good’ with that!

    I have lived my life under the Presidential leadership of Republicans AND Democrats.

Some good, some not so good, on both sides….Some ‘good’ but not effective….some effective but not so ‘good’.

      I have recently found myself looking back, and studying, and I find that in some ways I might have to don (or create) the mantle of  “a JFK Conservative”.

     I don’t agree with everything he stood for, and pushed for in the course of his political career. During his short Presidential term, while I was a child, I of course had no idea what any of his ideology was about.

     But through the prism of history, I find that many of his words and ideals ring true for me. I’m also afraid that his words don’t necessarily stand for what our government has become over the course of my life.

     I found some instances in various speeches that make me long for these ‘conservative’ values.

     Granted, I am guilty of picking and choosing, and could also have picked phrases that are the polar opposite of my views, and the JFK ‘myth’ in general….(i.e. his actions on the 1957 Civil Rights Act during Eisenhower’s term.) Kennedy, as so many before and since, could be considered guilty of political pandering….see, he needed those Southern Democrats to win the White House, which he had his sights on)

But, I didn’t want to go there.

How about this…

     “But the most direct and significant kind of Federal action aiding economic growth is to make possible an increase in private consumption and investment demand—to cut the fetters which hold back private spending…The final and best means of strengthening demand among consumers and business is to reduce the burden on private income and the deterrents to private initiative which are imposed by our present tax system…”

“It is a paradoxical truth, that tax rates are too high today and tax revenues are too low and the soundest way to raise the revenues in the long run is to cut the rates now.
 
I think that philosophy has proven itself since.
He was also a proponent of ‘the people’ being involved in the decisions of THEIR government….
     “A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
 
     “The very word ‘secrecy’ is repugnant in a free and open society; and we are as a people inherently and historically opposed to secret societies, to secret oaths, and to secret proceedings.”
 

On national defense… and world-wide peace…

     “Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of liberty.”

      “The cost of freedom is always high, but Americans have always paid it. And one path we shall never choose, and that is the path of surrender, or submission.”

     “The United States is a peaceful nation. And where our strength and determination are clear, our words need merely to convey conviction, not belligerence. If we are strong, our strength will speak for itself. If we are weak, words will be of no help.

Bi-partisanship….the REAL bi-partisanship, not the ‘come over to MY side and we’ll call it bi-partisan’…

     “Let us not seek the Republican answer or the Democratic answer, but the right answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future.”
 

     There are many more speeches, quotes and phrases that make me admire the 35th President, especially in light of the political ‘shenanigans’ of our central government in the last 30 or so years.

And finally,

“Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.”
So, am I a JFK Conservative?

I have actually had a friend describe me as a “political enigma”, so I guess that fits right in.

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.”  
~ by rkpowers on March 31, 2010.

One Response to “Off the Beaten Path”

  1. Are you a Democrat or a Republican?!??

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
