CATCH O’ THE DAY

Inside the Portfolio-Part 9

     Ok, so you’ve gotta have a little fun now and then…(some people think ‘working’ at photography is nothing BUT fun.)

     Take things a little out of perspective…or, maybe just exaggerate a point.

      Actually, when I am working, at anything, I enjoy it more than when I am idle….well, ‘idle’ AFTER working is not so bad.

     I’ve  had some photo jobs that were as hard as harvesting tobacco in the blazing Kentucky sun, or breaking rocks and dry-stacking an eight foot high wall, both of which I have done.    And, it can be as emotionally draining as pointing out, across a courtroom, a man who aimed a gun at your heart while robbing you of someone else’s money…which I’ve also done! (The pointing out…NOT the robbery!)

Now, how did I get there? Back to the subject at hand….

…a well stocked trout stream, plenty of fishing gear, chefs in a hot kitchen, a photographer who wanted to get outside…you know the saying, “If you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen”?…and go fishin’….(I added that last part)

     So, with tongue firmly planted ‘in cheek’……  add an ounce of persuasion, a couple of fresh Chefs, Seth and Paul  ( “Huh?..Can I do what?!”),  AND, it doesn’t hurt to throw in a pinch of that ‘getting out of the kitchen and into a stream’ thing ! ( You know, “Hey, you wanna cut up 42,000 beets or go fishing?”… Didn’t require much deliberation!) 

     You’d think it would be a ‘snap’ getting someone to take off work for an hour and go fishing… but then again, I’m from Tennessee…. we keep guns and fishing poles in the trunk of our cars at all times…and we don’t wear shoes, right?…..I’m just sayin’…!

     This idea had been ‘swimming’ around in my head for a while…probably after my own bout of fly-fishing followed by a knock-out grilled trout dinner…!

    I can think of  captions aplenty that could go with this, but “Fresh Catch” was the idea I was looking for. Works for me!

     Now that I look at these, I see something missing. It’s the great bane of photographers everywhere…the ‘woulda, coulda, shoulda”s.  I should have hooked a bunch of hand-tied flies in one of the chef’s toques…..

RESHOOT!!!!!!!

(Oh, wait!…Seth and Paul have each moved on to South Florida….they have fishing there, don’t they?)

BTW…No chefs were injured or abused in the creation of these photos….except,….Seth DID hook Paul one time, but we won’t mention that…!!!  Or show the picture!

~ by rkpowers on May 18, 2010.

One Response to “CATCH O’ THE DAY”

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
