Maybe Tomorrow…

_DD25923-bw

Wow….it has been 4 months since I last posted on this ‘blog’.  It hasn’t been through a lack of ideas, or imagination, or experiences. It wasn’t brought on by a paucity of subject matter.

No, I can only blame my late tendency on those two insidious words in the title…Maybe Tomorrow… each an expression of indecisiveness, longing, and/or procrastination… but together?!…probably the impetus (or lack thereof) of every great thing that has never been done.  Of every not-so-great thing that has never been done….of every mistake that has not been made in the quest for achievement.
I’m not one to make ‘New Year’s resolutions’ but I have vowed to myself that I will replace those two words with another set. Every time I find myself thinking or saying, “Maybe tomorrow” I will replace them with “Definitely!… Now!?”.
The pictures on this post are an illustration of the results that ‘Definitely!… Now!?’ have brought to bear.

_DD25986-Edit
My young actor friend Daniel Mark Collins and I had talked of updating his headshot.  I suggested that I would be glad to do it but would also like to experiment with some lighting techniques if he was ‘game’.
For quite some time I have admired the photographic style of George Hurrell  http://georgehurrell.com/ and I wanted to see (Maybe Tomorrow) if I might be able to… not so much imitate, as simulate his use of lighting and post-production.  I spent some time studying his work, checking out the lighting and the posing that did so much to create the ‘star’ aura that his photos projected.  The goal, at that time, was to elevate the stars into gods and goddesses, not bring them down to the level of ‘ordinary people’.

_DD25928-Edit2 bw

“The most essential thing about my style was working with shadows to design the face instead of flooding it with light” George Hurrell.

Where Hurrell wielded 8×10 cameras and film and retouched on the actual negative, I employed PhotoShop.  I believe, were he alive and still shooting that he would have loved PhotoShop.

I think Daniel and I did alright and the results are at least reminiscent of the Hollywood photos from the 30’s…and a few other techniques, besides.

_DD25961-blueEdit

I didn’t want to load this up with all of the shots, and I am still editing.  It seems that every time I go through them, another image strikes me and challenges my post-production limitations.
_DD25982-2EditIf you are interested in more, they are posted on Facebook under ‘rkpowersphoto’ and on Daniel’s page, as well.

…and, yes, we did get the ‘straight’ headshot!…though you won’t find it here.

_DD25962-Edit2

So…whatever it is that you NEED…WANT…DESIRE…MUST… do…

Maybe Tomorrow is not going to get it done! Now is all there is!!!!!!

~ by rkpowers on January 23, 2013.

4 Responses to “Maybe Tomorrow…”

  1. was wondering where you went….

    i’ve actually been acting on the “do it when you think of it” number for a while now after hearning that advice from one years ago who got immense accomplishments manifest.

    Like

  2. Wonderful work, mon ami. The lighting makes it dynamic. Perhaps you could do one of me (in the dark). Luv ya, Plebe.

    Like

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
