Sometimes We Don’t ‘See’ What We See

 

DSC_0718-Edit

I love the ‘flyovers’ that happen at many American sporting events.

As a kid, I wanted to be a pilot and then an astronaut (who didn’t in the 60’s?) but then I was told that perfect eyesight was needed for both… I didn’t/don’t have that, so I became a photographer, where one’s eyesight doesn’t matter as much as one’s vision. (And glasses help…)

stealthStealth bomber, 2011 Indy 500

 

I still intend to put up a little more on the Indianapolis Grand Prix, but since that weekend I’ve been back to the Arizona Biltmore and then the Indy 500…so…I have a few more things to share shortly.

Now, this is not about any of those except for the fact that this ‘flyover’ occurred at the Grand Prix.  I’m not certain what these aircraft are.  Maybe someone can tell me…

 

DSC_0723-Edit

But ‘seeing is’ not necessarily worth ‘believing’…and perceiving can be colored by..well…just about anything…or anybody!

(If you don’t believe that, simply check out the political rants on facebook.  People are so caught up in being ‘right’…or correct… that those ‘friends’ who disagree with their perceptions are said to be fools and/or idiots…)

But that’s for another day.  Suffice it to say that the intensity of the ego’s emotional reactions is not proportional to correctness….but directly proportional to the NEED to be correct!

 

And, we have probably all heard the phrase, “The camera doesn’t lie!”

That, I’m afraid is not necessarily true, either.

Case in point…  I almost missed the flyover and just happened to be in a position to quickly ‘snap off’ a few frames of the planes.  When I zoomed in later, I was somewhat shocked by what I had captured.  On a photographic level, this looks extremely dangerous from my ‘perspective’…my vantage point…

(click on the image to make it larger)

DSC_0721-Edit

 

This looks even worse!

 

DSC_0719-Edit

Not what it appears to be.  No planes crashed, which from these images would seem inevitable.

Things are not always as they appear on the surface.  ‘Nuff said!

DSC_0724-Edit

~ by rkpowers on May 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
